The board helps to support the mission of the Clean Air Coalition and the work of its staff members to make our communities healthier through grassroots organizing. Our board is comprised of individuals from all walks of life who share a commitment to making life better for communities across the region. This incredible group supports the organization by fundraising, serving as organizational ambassadors and making big-picture policy decisions.

Clean Air 2020 Board of Directors 

Sydney Brown, The Most High God of Abraham, Isaac and Jacob, Black Chamber of Commerce of Western New York, Restore Our Community Coalition (ROCC) (Co-Chair)

Ms. Della Miller, I am a committed community advocate and advisor, advancing solutions in communities. I strongly support building healthy and safe environments. I have participated in several Clean Air Coalition campaigns: Participatory Budgeting, Voter Registration and Delavan Grider/American Axle. I have attended CAC retreats and other vital trainings. I also received Clean Air’s “Golden Gas Mask” Award in 2018. A few of my accomplishments include: receiving city of Buffalo contract to develop operation plan for new commercial kitchen in the Broadway Market, 1st prize winner of “Designed to Live Sustainably”, blind competition and received support from One Region Forward to research, develop and funding. Selected as Champion of Change, University of buffalo for 2 years in a row. I also completed UB’s Citizen’s Planning School. Currently, I am a member of Buffalo and Erie County Food Policy Council. For over 25 years, I have volunteer with St. John’s Federal Credit Union. I consider myself, a one-woman movement for “Front Porch Container Gardening”. I encourage, educate and support everyone to try and grow one or two container vegetables or fruit.”

James B. Jones, “I retired as Town Engineer in 2019 working as a licensed civil engineer in the Town of Tonawanda for 30 years. Project highlights while at Tonawanda included development and construction of over 23 miles of multi- use trails including the hallmark Tonawanda Rail Trail. Design and construction of beneficial reuse of recycled asphalt millings for multi-use trail base along Western NY’s largest rain garden. I also initiated the town’s 2 MW solar array project on their landfill, managed several brownfield redevelopment projects, launched the forthcoming LED street light conversion, mini-roundabout intersection conversions and electric vehicle charging stations. In 2020, I established Mode Choice Engineering, PLLC focusing on alternative transportation solutions and became part of the staff at GObike Buffalo as their in-house engineer assisting with alternative transportation advocacy planning and design. I also serve as chairman of the Rotary of the Tonawandas and volunteer with the Niagara River Greenway, Greater Buffalo Wellness Institute and the Clean Air’s Tonawanda Coke and Huntley Campaign Teams.”

Emily Rose Louis,  “I am a mom of two, and a big sister of eight. I’ve lived in Buffalo nearly my whole life, and worked in fundraising and event planning for almost nine years for organizations like Roswell Park Alliance Foundation, American Cancer Society, Girls Education Collaborative and PUSH Buffalo. I would be honored to serve as a member of Clean Air’s Board of Directors because I wholeheartedly stand behind Clean Air’s values, in particular race & class equity & inclusion and environmental justice. I am passionate about the work of Clean Air because I have felt the pain of losing someone to cancer with a direct connection to both racial and environmental injustice. If I’m elected to join Clean Air’s Board it will be in the name of Shahadah Johnson, my chosen little sister who we lost at 17.”